|Values:||0, 1, 2|
This flag determines whether an object can fire on land units (as opposed to naval units) or not. In YR, it additionally can allow land targeting only with the secondary weapon.
This flag, along with NavalTargeting, was likely introduced because technically, ships are ground-level units as well, and a simple AG=yes
would have does allow Submarines, for example, to fire torpedoes through the water, over the ground, into a tank. This, of course, is not desired. Therefore, the additional target area distinction between "Land" and "Naval" was created. The originally intended AN and AS were probably dismissed because they were not "complex" enough, allowing only a simple "Can fire on submarines? Yes." rather than something like "Can fire on submarines? Yes, but only with it's Secondary.".
|Value||Basic game interpretation||Explanation from rules|
|0||LAND_OKAY||Land is okay|
|1||LAND_NOT_OKAY||Land is not okay¹|
|2||LAND_SECONDARY||Can shoot land, but only with secondary weapon|
¹ Note: The rules at this point actually say "Land is OK". That is evidently wrong, illustrated by the given game interpretation, supported by the fact that "0" already is "Land is okay", and proven in the wild a thousand times over.
This section is just ment to show that Naval- & LandTargeting aren't mutually exclusive, and can confuse the hell out of you as well as the game. Apart from the usual checks, you should watch them double closely if you're doing any extended Primary/Secondary magic.